A crisp evening in Göteborg

Last week I was visiting colleagues in Göteborg. We have an office just off the shipping lane close to the landmark Ericsberg crane.  The area used to be a busy ship building area but these days it’s a filled with smart looking apartment blocks, hotels and offices.

Taking advantage of clear skys and crisp clean air, I thought I would take myself and my new camera for yet another evening stroll. I am still really pleased with how the pictures I shot in Turin came out and I was hoping that I would get an equally high level of satisfaction from these.  Having just looked through them on my larger computer screen, I am far from being disappointed.

This first shot was taken as I left the office on the way to the hotel.  The sun had just dropped behind a blooming steam cloud from a distant chimney stack.

Göteborg at dusk

The lens I have been using is what is available as a kit lens together with the X-E1. I have to say this 18-55 is really more than just a kit lens. The build quality is great and it seems sharp throughout it’s range. It’s not the fastest in terms of XF lenses available and sometimes it hunts for focus in low light but the results so far are more then impressing me. Together with the X-trans sensor, this lens is rendering some great images. More than I would expect from a bundled combo.

Göteborg at dusk

2 responses to A crisp evening in Göteborg

Leave a comment