An evening stroll around Turin

Last week I had the opportunity to spend an evening in Turin which gave me the chance to try out my new Fuji X-E1 camera with 18-55mm kit lens.  I’ve blogged before about how fantastic the X100 is in low light (see https://fotomind.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/eiffel-tower-meets-x100/ and https://fotomind.wordpress.com/2011/11/20/a-few-more-shots-of-paris-by-night/) so I was really interested to see if the X-E1 would be as good or perhaps even better.

I must confess that as I had people with me, I pretty much let the camera do its own thing.  ISO was limited to 6400. The only thing I did try for some shots was the manual focus which compared to the X100, is way better to handle. This makes the future prospect of buying some old M-Mount lenses and an adapter really exciting (I just hope Fuji will introduce focus peaking in a coming FW update).

Typical for Fuji, the jpeg engine is awesome.  To be honest I’m blown away and I’m so glad that I was able to resist the distraction of the new Sony Nex 6 which very nearly pulled me from going for the Fuji.

An evening stroll around Turin, Italy.

With auto focus the camera did hunt around a bit in really dimly lit situations but nothing that distracted from the pleasure of using this camera.

An evening stroll around Turin, Italy.

I’m no camera reviewer so I’m going to stop here.  All I can say is that I am definitely not regretting making a further investment into the Fuji X series and I am really looking forward to getting more and more familiar with this camera.

3 responses to An evening stroll around Turin

Leave a Reply

