Introducing the Zorki 4

I am now the proud owner of a Zorki 4 camera that this weekend I was finally able to take out and pretend to take photos with.

As mentioned in a previous post, I was on the look out for one on eBay and in terms of appearance and function, I think I have found a nice one. The only issue I’ve had was a dragging second curtain on slow shutter speeds but nothing that some oil and an adjustment to the curtain tension didn’t sort.

Unfortunately it started to pour with rain about half way through the roll so I will now have to wait until next weekend to finish it off.

Of course I have no idea how the photos will be. I can honestly say that I didn’t think I would have such apprehension before taking each shot. No screen to preview with, no overhead display showing what the camera is doing, metering, focusing on. Not even a light to show that it is working. For that matter, no battery and no on/off switch.

I’ve been metering with my X100 so hopefully that has helped a bit. I’m definitely not expecting much from this first roll of film, in fact, if I can get even one shot in focus and correctly exposed (at the same time) I’ll be happy.

The X100 and Zorki make a good pair when sat side by side. Hopefully the team effort with regards to metering will be equally as good.

20121217-223042.jpg

Respond to Introducing the Zorki 4

Leave a Reply

