Eiffel Tower meets X100

When travelling for business, which I often do, rarely do I get a chance to take stop and have a look around. Well I’m doing things differently today. Rather than staying at the airport, as I usually do, I’ve booked a hotel in Central Paris instead. Cambronne to be exact in the Ibis Paris Tour Eiffel. It’s far from flash but it is walking distance to the Eiffel Tower and that means I can finally give my new X100 a go in low light.

I’m really impressed. I had read a lot about how this thing was suppose to perform in low light but I had no idea it would be so good. It blows my LX5 out of the water and that was also hyped as being great for low light. I would say it is even better than my old faithful D80 but perhaps that needs more substantiation.

With ISO limited to 1600 and aperture wide open I had only a few shots that I thought were too noisy to be usable. What’s really impressive is the shutter speeds that this thing can maintain despite the low light.

Ok, so no great photography to get excited about here. I’m impressed non-the-less and inspired to try and fit more hobby time into my business travel.

2 responses to Eiffel Tower meets X100

  1. […] 18-55mm kit lens.  I’ve blogged before about how fantastic the X100 is in low light (see https://fotomind.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/eiffel-tower-meets-x100/ and https://fotomind.wordpress.com/2011/11/20/a-few-more-shots-of-paris-by-night/) so I was really […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

