my next camera…finally decided!

I thought this was interesting enough to blog about. For me it is anyway.

Finally I’ve decided on my next camera purchase. After weeks of trawling through countless reviews, annoying my local camera shops with sporadic visits (just for a play) and reading every forum critique I could find, I felt ready today to take a leap of faith and order a Fujifilm Finepix X100. It should arrive tomorrow.

I really hope I’ve made the right decision. Nikon V1 didn’t fit the bill although I like the look of the camera. The Ricoh GXR came close but I wasn’t sure about the modular approach. The Nex 7 would be as big (combined with lens) as my Nikon D80. The Leica X1 would have been nice but I managed to see past that red dot.

It’s going to be interesting to see if the fixed lens is going to help me improve my photography or if it’s going to annoy the hell out of me. Either way, the X100 was the first camera I started to look seriously into and it’s the one I’ll be ending up with.

I’m really looking forward to how this will pan out. I’ll let you know how things go, if you’re interested that is.

2 responses to my next camera…finally decided!

  1. fotomind – Author

    Thanks Chris

    Comparable Canon cameras I didn’t really consider (perhaps I should have done). From a usability perspective, I’m sure they are way better than the X100. The “quirkyness” that is so often mentioned is something I’m looking forward to understanding more about. Technically compared to say, the G12, all round IQ should be better on the X100.

    Interesting will be to see what Canon will do in terms of a mirrorless system camera.

    I took a look at IDOLiZE. Really cool. I’ll be following.

    Like

Leave a Reply

